Arts Centre and Museum – Waihi – 1962. Original Technical School, opened 1903.

Arts Centre and Museum – Waihi – 1962. Original Technical School, opened 1903.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Arts Centre and Museum – Waihi – 1962. Original Technical School, open...
"King", towing Watt's Punt on Boat Day, Whangamata.

"King", towing Watt's Punt on Boat Day, Whangamata.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
"King", towing Watt's Punt on Boat Day, Whangamata.
Buchanan Homestead, Paeroa – Waihi Road, 1902 – 1937.

Buchanan Homestead, Paeroa – Waihi Road, 1902 – 1937.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Buchanan Homestead, Paeroa – Waihi Road, 1902 – 1937.
Bushman's Home – Tairua. Wood engraving by Campbell Smith.

Bushman's Home – Tairua. Wood engraving by Campbell Smith.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Bushman's Home – Tairua. Wood engraving by Campbell Smith.
First Hotel in Whangamata on northern shore of harbour

First Hotel in Whangamata on northern shore of harbour. Mr Henry De Nevill Given, Mr Harry Watt (Licensee), Mr Walter Stevens.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
First Hotel in Whangamata on northern shore of harbour
Mine installations at Grahamstown c1869

Mine installations at Grahamstown, or northern end of Thames as seen from flank of Kuranui Hill – Circa 1869.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Mine installations at Grahamstown c1869
Karangahake Historical Information Sign

Karangahake Historical Information Sign Photo by courtesy of Thames Valley News (1967) Ltd. (from back cover of Journal)

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Karangahake Historical Information Sign
Karangahake Historical Information Sign

Karangahake Historical Information Sign Photo by courtesy of Thames Valley News (1967) Ltd. (from back cover of Journal)

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Karangahake Historical Information Sign
Early settlers landing cargo, Whangamata.

Difficulties of the pioneers. Early settlers landing cargo by means of cables from the coastal steamer at Whangamata.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Early settlers landing cargo, Whangamata.
Old Paeroa – Te Aroha Road, Rotokohu.

Old Paeroa – Te Aroha Road, Rotokohu.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Old Paeroa – Te Aroha Road, Rotokohu.
Picturesque Whangamata Today – Wharf in Foreground.

Picturesque Whangamata Today – Wharf in Foreground.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Picturesque Whangamata Today – Wharf in Foreground.
Old Queen of Beauty engine house

Old Queen of Beauty engine house. Both Quandrants of Thames – Hauraki Pump.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Old Queen of Beauty engine house
Late Rev. W.G. Parker, Paeroa.

Late Rev. W.G. Parker, Paeroa.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Late Rev. W.G. Parker, Paeroa.
Under Kuranui Hill

Under Kuranui Hill, looking to Moanataiara Flat. Levelled mine dumps gave new area to Thames. [this would appear to be the wrong caption for this photo. Maybe a talk at the Queen of Beauty engine house - E]

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Under Kuranui Hill
Members of Staff, Council Members and Students ff the Waihi School of Mines, 1902.

MEMBERS OF THE STAFF, COUNCIL MEMBERS AND STUDENTS OF THE WAIHI SCHOOL OF MINES, 1902.

Back row: R.R. Lewis, W. Macdonald (A.R.S.M.) J. Daley, H.T. Fletcher, A.H.V. Morgan, M.A. (Assistant Director), J.L. Gilmour, T. Daley, J. Wotherspoon, D. Coutts, J.G. Cornes, J. Morgan, G. Arscott, P. Coonery, Stafford Clark, (Lab. Assist). G. Sherrock, D. Anderson.

Middle row: T. McKeown, H. Lewis, A. Inglis, H. Cramer-Roberts, D. Quigg, T. Clarke, J. McKeown, C. McLean, G. Evans, W. Morgan, G.L. Corbett, T.H. Harrison, O. Bell, L. Murphy, H. Scott, T. Donelly, F. Rose, G. Clerk.

Front row: C. Moore, Boyd Bennett, C.J.A. Graham, R.H. Mitchell (Drawing Instructor), F.T. Seelye (Lecturer), P.G. Morgan (Director), Thos. Gilmour (President), A.H. Benge, T. Johns, F. Stewart, W. Morrison, R. Morgan (Members of Council), T. Weir, A.E. Lewis, T. Gilmour.

Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 7, May 1967
Members of Staff, Council Members and Students ff the Waihi School of ...
 
 
Powered by Phoca Gallery