Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 44, September 2000

A reunion, organised by Mr Keith Parker, for the early members of the Paeroa Old Boys Rugby Football Club was held over Queen's Birthday Weekend 2000 (2-4 June).

The Club was originally formed from boys leaving Paeroa District High School who did not wish to join either the Netherton or West Clubs. In the first year, 1950, Keith Parker captained the 3rd Grade team and that year the team won the competition. In 1952 the Club started a junior team and in 1955 had its first senior team. Some of the 1950 team played until 1963 and two of the original players help run the Club, with Eddie Bancroft as treasurer and Mr Parker as secretary.

Although the Club has not produced any All Blacks, it has produced two Members of Parliament (Graeme Lee and Roger McLay) and four Mayors (Ernie and Graeme Lee, Ted Leigh and the current Mayor, Basil Morrison).

Approximately 200 people registered for the reunion celebrations, including ten of the eighteen Life Members. The celebrations included a social evening in the Club's home at Centennial Park on Friday evening, a game to watch on Saturday afternoon and a dinner that night at the racecourse.

Although it started out as a rugby club for Paeroa District High School old boys, it is now a sports club covering many sports and both sexes. A comprehensive history of the club entitled A Half Century for Paeroa Old Boys and Sports Club has been written by Graham Watton for publication in July 2000.