Ohinemuri Regional History Journal 28, September 1984
The Waihi Technical School was established in 1908 and closed down in 1969. It was built by the late George Fisk and was the only building of its kind in the district. It was closed by the Education Department when the new Waihi College was built and put up for sale by tender. There were five tenders put in including one by the Waihi Borough Council. Through investigations by the Town Clerk at that time, it was revealed that the citizens of Waihi had contributed £500 towards the cost of the building. When the Crown were told this, the Borough Council was able to purchase it for half price.
The building is now the home of the Waihi Arts Centre and Museum where special emphasis has been given in the museum display of the unique mining activities of the district.