Karangahake School and District 70th Jubilee 1889-1959

From 1871 till 1896 Karangahake was part of the Thames Electorate and then till 1928 we were included in Ohinemuri, the member longest associated with us being Mr Hugh Poland (1905-1925). He was followed by Mr Samuel, during whose term of office we were once more transferred to Thames and Mr J. Thorn was our representative from 1935-46. Then we became part of Tauranga Electorate with Mr E. Doidge (1946-51) and Mr G. Walsh (1951-57).

At the last election in 1957 we found ourselves in Hauraki and are represented by Mr A. E. Kinsella, who was almost a local boy, being born at Waikino in 1918. His people settled in the district in the early 1870's and were closely connected with mining, particularly in Waihi.

Mr Kinsella was educated at the Owharoa and Waikino primary schools and at the Waihi High School. He graduated B.A. (Victoria College) and M.A. (Auckland University College). Serving before the War in the 1st Auckland Regiment and 6th Hauraki Regiment, he volunteered and served overseas in England, Middle East and Greece with the 7th Field Engineers N.Z.E.F.

Before entering politics, Mr Kinsella had taught for some years at Ponsonby, Napier Intermediate, Tolaga Bay D.H.S., Argyle East, and finally in the secondary department at the Paeroa District High School.